scaled
 
SINCE 1998

Open EVERY DAY  

9 am - 6 pm 

16 E. Main Street, Warner NH  03278

603-456-2700  

Email info@mainstreetbookends.com

 
YANKEE Magazine’s “Editors’ Pick-Must-See Bookstore in New England"
 
New Hampshire Magazine’s “Best Community Bookstore in New Hampshire”
 
"Something Wonderful is Happening in Warner"

Browse Indie Next and Bestseller Books

Click on either image to view the latest Indie Bestsellers!

 

 

 

 

 

Please Join Us in The Gallery for a very special afternoon

 

Sunday, Oct. 28 at 2 pm

 

Two new authors whose books are making a big splash

 

Louise Miller

&

Ann Braden

 

 

 

 

 

 

  Louise Miller is a writer and pastry chef living in Boston, MA. Her debut novel, THE CITY BAKER'S GUIDE TO COUNTRY LIVING, was selected as an Indie Next pick by the American Booksellers Association, a Library Reads pick by Librarians across the U.S., and was shortlisted by the America Library Association’s Reading List Council for best women’s fiction in 2017.  Her 2nd novel, THE LATE BLOOMERS' CLUB, just released in July 2018, is a delightful novel about two headstrong sisters, a small VT town's efforts to do right by the community, and the power of a lost dog to summon true love. In addition to baking and writing, Louise is an art school dropout, an amateur flower gardener, an old-time banjo player, an obsessive moviegoer, and a champion of old dogs.  Visit her online at http://louisemillerauthor.tumblr.com.

“A downright delightful read. . . [with] everything you want from a small town summer read: sweetness, charm, and a side of romance.” –HelloGiggles

 

 

 

  Ann Braden writes books about kids struggling to find their voice amidst the realities of life.  THE BENEFITS OF BEING AN OCTOPUS is her first middle-grade novel, earning a starred review from School Library Journal;  "Heartbreaking, beautifully written...Braden's story raises many thought-provoking and timely questions about the difficulty of escaping poverty and the prevalence of gun violence.”  She founded GunSenseVT, a grassroots group focused on championing the common ground on the issue of guns in Vermont, which recently helped pass landmark gun violence prevention legislation. She also founded the Local Love Brigade, which now has chapters all over the country sending love postcards to those who are facing hate. Ann is the co-host of the children's book podcast, "Lifelines: Books that Bridge the Divide," along with Pakistani American author Saadia Faruqi, and is a former middle school teacher. She lives in southern Vermont with her husband, two children, and two insatiable cats named Boomer and Justice. Visit her online at www.annbradenbooks.com.

"This is a compassionate look at poverty, hard choices, and defending one's right to be treated humanely. A very fine first novel, written with a deft hand.” —Newbery Medal Winner Karen Hesse

 

 

The Benefits of Being an Octopus Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781510737488
Availability: Backordered
Published: Sky Pony Press - September 4th, 2018

The Late Bloomers' Club: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781101981238
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Pamela Dorman Books - July 17th, 2018

The City Baker's Guide to Country Living: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101981214
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - November 7th, 2017

Warner's 2nd Annual Evening Art Walk

Friday November 2 ~ 5 pm to 8 pm

In Celebration of NH Open Doors November 3-4

and in collaboration with the Upton Chandler House Museum

Join us for a lovely evening to celebrate Warner's Artists!

Reception at the Upton Chandler Museum from 5 pm to 7 pm

 

Wine & Cheese Reception

at MainStreet BookEnds Gallery 6 pm to 8 pm

 

 

MainStreet BookEnds Celebrates NH Open Doors

in the attached MainStreet Gallery
 
Featuring a Cornucopia of Local Artists
in All Mediums
 
Garrett Evans
 
Jeremy Guitar
 
Peter Sabin
 
Susan Bliss
 
Mimi Wiggin
 
Lucinda McQueen
 
Martha Mae Emerson
 
Michelle Marson
 
Garry Kalajian
 
Kathleen Sirois
 
Jamie Murray
 
Margaret Venator
 
Tara VanMeter
 
Gary Young
 
Susan Beere
 
Alli Howe
 
Trish Dalto
 
Leslie Ward
 
Kim Preston
 
Sasha Wolfe
 
David Carroll
 
Laurette Carroll
 
Sean Carroll
 
Nan McCarthy
 
Faith Minton
 
Diane Fernand
 
Susan Parmeter
 
Rosemary McGuirk
 
Dan Tavis
 
Rick Stockwell
 
and MORE
 
 

We kick off this year's "StoryTime with Simonds" with

acclaimed NH children's author

 

Mary Lyn Ray!

 

Thursday, November 1 at 3:15 pm

 

We are having a party for her just released book

 

The Thank You Book

 

 

Perfect for fans of Margaret Wise Brown and Pat Zietlow Miller’s Be KindThe Thank You Book explores the many ways of being thankful that can fill a child's day. Timely, wise, and accessible, the poetic text and tender illustrations celebrate the powerful impact gratitude can have on our lives.

Thank you isn't just for learning manners.
It's also for when something wakes a 
little hum
a little happy huminside you
and you want to answer back.

The Thank You Book explores the many ways we can be thankful for the pleasures great and small that await us every day. Tender and poetic, it reflects on the role gratitude can play in our lives and celebrates the powerful impact it can have on us.

 

Mary Lyn will read this delightful book, and show us the mock-up for her upcoming companion book,

 

The Friendship Book.

 

Mary Lyn Ray has written many acclaimed books for children, including Go to Sleep, Little Farm, illustrated by Christopher Silas Neal; New York Times best-seller Stars, illustrated by Marla Frazee and The Thank You Book, illustrated by Stephanie Graegin. She lives in South Danbury, New Hampshire.

 

Please join us for this special event, and join us throughout the year for

 

"StoryTime with Simonds"

 

the first Thursday of each month from 3:15 pm to 3:45 pm in The Gallery!

 

November 1

December 6

January 3

February 7

March 7

April 4

May 2

June 6

The Thank You Book Cover Image
By Mary Lyn Ray, Stephanie Graegin (Illustrator)
$13.99
ISBN: 9780544791367
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - September 4th, 2018

The Stars: The Complete Guide (Classic Board Books) Cover Image
By Mary Lyn Ray, Marla Frazee (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9781534406629
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little Simon - December 26th, 2017

Go to Sleep, Little Farm padded board book Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780544579163
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - September 1st, 2015

Christmas Farm Cover Image
By Mary Lyn Ray, Barry Root (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780152162900
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - October 1st, 2008

Goodnight, Good Dog (padded board book with flocked cover) Cover Image
By Mary Lyn Ray, Rebecca Malone (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9781328852427
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - May 29th, 2018

Red Rubber Boot Day Cover Image
By Mary Lyn Ray, Lauren Stringer (Illustrator)
$6.99
ISBN: 9780152053987
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - August 1st, 2005

Mud Cover Image
By Mary Lyn Ray, Lauren Stringer (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780152024611
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - April 1st, 2001

MSMP&G LogoMainStreet MarketPlace & Gallery
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
MainStreet MarketPlace
& Gallery
 
Open Daily from 9 am to 6 pm
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
MainStreet MarketPlace & Gallery Logo
by Lucinda McQueen
 
 
MainStreet MarketPlace & Gallery, in the attached barn,
featuring local art, local products, and local food.
Paintings, ceramics, prints, pottery, jewelry, quilts, furniture and many assorted hand-crafted items from our local artists,
as well as homespun wool, local eggs, milk, and produce in season.
At MainStreet MarketPlace & Gallery all are welcome to relax with a cup of coffee, free wi-fi, and children have their own play corner.  
 
 
Jim Mitchell Community Park
 
 
 
MainStreet BookEnds partners with MainStreet Warner, Inc. MSW, Inc.
 
 
 
 
 

MainStreet BookEnds shares this space with MainStreet Warner, Inc., the non-profit foundation responsible for the adjacent Jim Mitchell Community Park and MainStreet Warner Stage and amphitheater.

Events in the Gallery, Park  and Stage are coordinated through MainStreet Warner, Inc.,
established in 2000, and dedicated to promoting the arts, education and preservation of the Warner Community. 
 

Future Amphitheater   
  Jim Mitchell
Community Park
MainStreet Warner Stage and Amphitheater
 
 
 
 
We are thrilled to be the second bookstore in the country to be 100% SOLAR!
Installed in January of 2012, our 11.52 KW solar system provides 100% of all the electrical needs for the building, as well as for the park.
DoBros B&W
 
Just one more reason

Something Wonderful is Happening in Warner
 
 
MainStreet BookEnds celebrates their 16th Birthday with a "Children's Literature Float" ~ WFFF Parade 10/12/14